Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

#03 The Transformative Power of Writing

Welcome to another Reel of Son of a Viet Kieu: German heart Vietnamese soul

Ever felt that writing is only for the naturally gifted or experts? I used to think that too, but writing 46,550 words for my book "Son of a Viet Kieu" completely changed my perspective.

First misconception: “Good writers are born.” 🍼✍️ Back in middle school, I was nowhere near a good writer—my grades reflected that. I hated writing in German, English, and French. But during my Work and Travel year in New Zealand, I began writing mini blogs for fun. Fast forward seven years in Vietnam, I’ve written hundreds of blogs, and now, I’m working on my own book. My younger self would never believe it.

Second misconception: “You need to be an expert before you can write.” 📚🔍 Shifting from fun travel blogs to serious topics brought out my imposter syndrome. But a quote saved me: “You don’t get paid for being perfect; you get paid for solving problems.” That mindset shift helped me focus on the value I could bring, rather than perfection.

And the biggest lesson? “Writing reveals your true self.” 🧘‍♂️📖 Writing lets me slow down, reflect, and reconnect with my past. It’s been therapeutic.

What have you learned from writing? Let me know in the comments! 🤗💬

Share

Discussion about this podcast

Son of a Viet Kieu
Son of a Viet Kieu Podcast
Sharing my stories as a German Vietnamese living in HCMC in order to inspire other Vietnamese (overseas) to see their value 🥰
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Thomas Nguyen